Management Organization

Ishigaki Island International Film Festival Executive Committee has been set up to organize and run this festival. The preparation for the festival has been divided into two major teams; the “secretariat” for operation and execution planning, and “Curation team (film selection committee) '' for program planning and film selection.
In addition, the “Board of Directors” of the film festival corporation (currently preparing) functions as a governing body to make final decisions in implementing the event.

Curation Team

  • Director of Programming: Huang Yin-yu

  • Programmer: Wonder Weng

  • Selection Committee

    Pre-selection of Competition:
    Wonder Weng and others (currently under negotiation)

    2nd Competition Selection:
    Huang Yin-yu, Wonder Weng,
    Katsuya Okuma, Teruki Uehara,
    Kosuke Fujiki

    Okinawa Department:
    Kosuke Fujiki, Katsuya Okuma,
    Teruki Uehara

    International Department:
    Huang Yin-yu, Teruki Uehara,
    Wonder Weng

    VR Department:
    Wonder Weng, Huang Ying-yu

  • Huang Yin-yuDirector of Programming

    Huang Yin-yu was born in Taiwan, achieving an MA in Film Major in Tokyo, and is now based in Okinawa.
    His documentary works include “Wuguwang N. St. to Taipei” (2010);
    “Temperature at Nights” (2013), which has been selected by Visions du Réel;
    “The Men Who Protect the Mountains” (2014), produced by Naomi KAWASE; and “After Spring, the Tamaki Family...” (2016), which has been theatrically released in Taiwan and Japan.
    “Green Jail” has been selected for the “Doc Station” of Berlinale Talents, and received the “Pitching du Réel” HEAD Post-production Award at Visions du Réel in 2015.
    He’s selected as “Emerging Producers 2020" of Jihlava International Documentary Film Festival.

  • Wonder WengProgrammer

    Wonder Weng is film critic, director of the Taiwan Film Critics Society, “China Times Weekly” film columnist, host and owner of the popular Taiwanese movie site “Vanish without a trace”
    Hsinchu City Children’s Film Festival programmer, Taoyuan arts cinema curator
    Fuzhong 15 – New Taipei City Documentary Cinema curator.

  • Katsuya OkumaCompetition Selection Committee

    Born in Okinawa. After studying literature at the University of the Ryukyus, he moved to Tokyo in 2011. His 40-minute film “Gift” (2011) was screened at Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival and Vision du Réel 2012 (Switzerland), and had other national and international screenings. In 2015, he received the Award of Excellence for New Asian Currents at Yamagata International Documentary Film Festival for his film “Each Story”, which was filmed in Ladakh, Northern India.

  • Kosuke FujikiCompetition Selection Committee, programmer of “Okinawa Spotlight”

    Kosuke Fujiki earned his Ph.D. in Film Studies in 2017 from King’s College London where he completed his thesis on the post-reversion Okinawan cinema. He has published articles in various journals. He is currently an Educational Lecturer at Okayama University of Science.
    He received the 4th Japan Film Association Award, the Film Criticism Award 2017, the 15th ALC Subtitle Translation Contest Grand Prize, the 23rd Theater Arts Award and other honorable mentions. His main dissertation was " Trapped in Between: Interim Space/Time in Wong Kar-wai's In the Mood for Love and 2046" (published in"Movie and Ideology" Kentaro Sugino,).

Executive Committee

  • Teruki Uehara
    Executive Committee Chairman and Selection committee

    Film Critic and an owner and host of a popular film critique site “OUTSIDE IN TOKYO”
    Articles for magazines “Eureka” “TRANSIT” “BRUTUS” and etc.,
    Representative Director of Jam Communications

  • Kazuya Takano
    Executive Director

    Specializing project managements of business developments, IPO and etc., while engaging in the long-term social system development projects for the ASEAN countries as one of the consultants of Japanese multinational information technology corporation.

  • So Sugaya
    Executive Committee Member

    Graduated from University of the Ryukyus and received MA of the College of Liberal Arts at National Chung Hsing University in Taiwan, So Sugaya is an artist with several art works and literary works since college and received awards for poems in Okinawa. With the interest in art film, he also worked in the art cinema house in Naha, Okinawa.


  • Shinobu Hirano

  • Chikayo Oyamori

Advisory Board

  • Naoko Hatano
    TV & R Writers’ Association of Japan / Writer & Dirctor

  • Haruyuki Suzuki
    NHK Educational / Producer

  • Akihiko Shimada
    Clip Inc. / President

  • Mandar Wavde
    Senior Vice President
    Business Development
    NEC Asia Pacific Pte Ltd